Making ramen at home

by Sofia

I made this to recover from Purim (it went great!) and it’s only properly described by expletives. I’m sad Mike wasn’t around to taste it.

Next time I hope to make it with dashi. Today I bought kombu but forgot to pick up bonito flakes. I’m excited to incorporate these special, out-of-reach flavours into my repertoire.

Chinese noodles (the yellow, alkaline ones)
zucchini
red bell pepper
bok choy
dried shiitake mushrooms
tofu
miso paste (I used red)
veggie or mushroom broth
egg
soy sauce/Bragg’s
toasted sesame oil

Cook the noodles; drain and set aside.

Soak mushrooms in boiling water to rehydrate; slice into pieces.

Chop the zucchini and red pepper; pan-fry with a touch of sesame oil till cooked through.

Chop tofu into cubes and fry until crispy. Add soy sauce and sesame oil.

Steam bok choy.

Bring broth and shiitake mushrooms to a boil. Take out a cup or two and mix in the miso paste.

Poach an egg for each person (place egg into boiling water, then turn off heat and let sit for 4 minutes).

Assemble each plate with noodles at the bottom, followed by some veggies, tofu, broth, miso, and an egg.

