Baba ganoush and internets

by Sofia

2 eggplants
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/4 c lemon juice
1/4 c tahini
1 1/2 T olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Cut eggplants lengthwise, salt, let sit for an hour. Rinse, then bake in oven at 375F for an hour or until very soft. When cool enough, strip the peel off (if it’s messy, you’re doing it right). Process with other ingredients.

I spent a good two hours helping my mom set up a guest account for my little sister to use and dealing with the emotional aftermath (little sister freaked out because she can’t chat on my mom’s Skype account anymore). It’s moments like these, when I’m researching the best way to add parental controls to a computer while explaining to my mom how to disconnect the wifi on her laptop, that I realize that I’m helping my mom be a parent to my younger siblings, that the graphic and anarchic aspects of the Internet really are scary and make one feel impotent in the face of them, and how easy it is to fall into wanting to control, to block everything out instead of teaching a little kid how to deal with it intelligently and trusting her to do exactly that. I think I did a good job explaining to my mom that she’s going to start to use the Internet on her own eventually, and that she should probably be allowed to use it for pleasure for a while instead of having her sneak around while she’s supposed to be doing homework. Either way, the Internet is likely the least terrible thing she’s exposed to, but it’s difficult to convey that to the old guard.

