Prepositions and pain

by Sofia

The wider the pool is from which to draw, the more perspectives, experiences, and ideas will be brought to the creative process.

Note to self: this is proper use of prepositions, as opposed to “The wider the pool draws from,…”

From Strengthening Canada’s Research Capacity: The Gender Dimension.

Also, I’ve come to the realization that everyone is hurt, that every person has a dark, painful piece of their life  that they struggle with, though few let on. I used to think it was only some people–the visible ones, the ones who show their pain on their sleeves, willingly or unwittingly–but recently I’m thinking it truly is everyone. The neglected kid who acts up in class as much as the harried, bitter schoolteacher who hates the job but know what she wants to do with her life. The jock who was not given a choice but to become one. The funny guy at the party whose father abandonded the family as a child. The ambitious woman with a satisfying career who cries in her home because her family didn’t love her the way she needed. The racist Israeli girl who wants to serve in the army as many times as possible, who still doesn’t know how to deal with the early death of both her parents.

It’s possible I’m merely projecting, but think time I don’t think so. Makes me want to let others know it’s okay, we’re here, too. This would require me to make myself more serious and more vulnerable in interacting with people, and my friendships would be taken to a different level. Thing is, I’m not sure people are into doing this kind of thing. Maybe now I’m projecting.

