Postmodernity and food

by Sofia

I just finished an incredibly interesting sociological article on anorexia and class. Now my thoughts are wandering around, and if I don’t jot them down I won’t be able to get on to my next reading.

  • postmodernism is no longer giving credence to the metanarrative of class structures, for instance. we see the results of this in the emergence of high-end restaurants that serve gourmet poutine, or diners that serve squash-filled ravioli alongside macaroni and cheese.
  • the position of the educated, intellectual types is no longer to be fiercely scientific and classically oriented by a good, solid career (that’s too modern, too square), but instead to embrace yoga and breastfeeding and organic food, to be part of the creative class, to be eclectic.
  • the hipster is to our time what the flâneur and the dandy where in nascent modern times. his appropriation of working class symbols and habits like drinking PBR beer and sporting a carefully selected Salvation Army wardrobe while going to McGill and living in an expensive Mile End apartment (both paid in full by affluent parents) is a clear indication that he breathes and exhibits postmodernism much in same the way the dandy did in transforming and imagining the tumultuous modern period he faced.

I wonder if I can make this my second paper for theory class, using myself as the hipster. I’m a great figure for this, as in my case you can point to many of the aspects that make our world postmodern: I am female (the modern dandy was male), I come from a mish-mash of class backgrounds, I am at home in a foreign place, and I am as likely to eat at a greasy spoon as I am to eat a homemade organic salad with sprouts I grew myself.

Actually, I’m sort of apprehensive that this might just mean I’m late modern. And that would be so much less cool.

