Slow

by Sofia

The thing I miss the most about having lots of free time is the ability to do intellectually stimulating things, like sit around to read, discuss, meditate, wonder. Once again, that which is urgent doesn’t leave time for what is important.

While I was on crutches I realized I would be able to do a lot of interesting, creative, and generally useless things that I have been unable to do in a long time because the pressures of real life force me to spend the time working instead.

Here’s what I would have liked to do:

  • Read. I just finished Silver, by Pablo Urbanyi. Before the summer is out, I’d like to finish El Amor en los Tiempos del Cólera, by Gabriel García Márquez; Che, Jon Lee Anderson; A Doubter’s Companion, John Ralston Saul; and Sophie’s World, Jostein Gaarder. I stop there because, really, it would not even be healthy to read all the books I want to read.
  • Listen to music again. I’ve been away from my collection of music since January, and I feel my life is impoverished because of it. I don’t joke when I say that I feel a little bit less alive and colourful due to its absence.
  • Learn to do a few things on Ubuntu. Specifically, I have a list of problems that need fixing (such as getting my iSight to work) that I would like to figure out how to do myself via the intimidating terminal, that wormhole into the depths of my computer’s entrails. Also, learning to use GNOME would be sweet. So if any of you out there reading this happen to be GNU/Linux geeks living in Montreal, come be my friend.
  • Work on my Hebrew. Because I’m still only pseudo-Jewish.

Stopping this list is difficult because there a thousand projects I want to start, things I want to learn, hobbies I want to pick up, skills I want to develop, topics I want to read about. Midwifery; anatomy; knitting; literature–Spanish, English and French; hiking and camping; religious philosophy; salsa and tango; cooking; painting; sewing and silkscreening my own clothes; making kombucha; meditation; capoeira; exploring Montreal; horse-back riding; et cetera, et cetera.

But alas, desire engenders suffering. I’m going to go walk the dog instead.

