Philosophy and wolves

by Sofia

I liked this review of Mark Rowland’s book The Philosopher and the Wolf: Lessons from the Wild on Love, Death and Happiness. It reminds me of my philosophy professor who had a beautiful dog that was half wolf. I wonder if he’s read it…

I think that before becoming philosophers, people must first be scientists of some sort. Only after his life as a physicist did Niels Bohr get to say that the opposite of a profound truth is another profound truth. Before sitting around to reflect upon the deep matters of life and the human experience, you have to live, toil, experience and learn first. This is why, before the advent of the term “science,” people who studied the natural world were called philosophers.

I’m coming to the realization that I’m pretty vain about my name.

